Author Topic: Kathryn Mcooeye in British Columbia  (Read 6569 times)

Offline educatedindian

• Administrator
Kathryn Mcooeye in British Columbia
« on: March 20, 2010, 08:34:57 pm »
I received a request for information on her, saying she's nonNative but claims to have been taught by Wallace Black Elk.

Her site. Basically she claims to be trained by just about everybody, but names no one except the late WBE and a Reiki "shaman" in Japan.

-------------
http://www.kathrynmccooeye.org/
I grew up immersed in the rich spirituality of the Gitksan people in Northern British Columbia. At a young age, I was blessed enough to be taken in by two Gitksan elders who helped to raise me through my remaining adolescent years.

....I moved to Aotearoa (New Zealand) to live and work with the Maori people. Initially, I worked as an outdoor Recreational Leadership Instructor, as I continued to live and work amongst the people, they soon hired me to act as a cultural interpreter to assist in mediating meetings between Maori elders and various funding bodies, representing factions of the New Zealand government....

While in Aotearoa (New Zealand) I was identified as "one to whom the spirits congregate". My Maori elders requested that I remain in Aotearoa to be trained as a shaman to work for their people.

Still quite terrified at the prospect of all this business of spirits etc., I respectfully declined and ran back to Canada.

...I soon was in an accident and incurred a very bad spinal cord injury, that left me with only too much time to reflect on my life choices. Ironically, in order to recover from the spinal cord injury, I was required to access and utilize the very shamanic gifts and abilities I had spent years avoiding. This sort of occurrence is very common in the life of a shaman (medicine person), where they experience a life-threatening illness or accident which is designed to awaken and inspire their ancient shamanic memories....