Author Topic: Katina Mercadante - Moon Dancer at Teotihuacan and "Empowerer of Empowerers"  (Read 2268 times)

Offline Babeloner

Hi folks, there's all kinds of white saviourism, appropriation, fat phobia, and overall cringe in this (bolding mine):

I first discovered I was an empowerer of empowerers while living in Kenya at the age of 19. I was researching the healing practices of Swahili healers known as waganga, one mganga in particular. She was responsible for the health of over 2000 people.

Several weeks into my stay with her I found this powerful, 200 lb woman crying on my shoulder. I felt an innate power born within me. As I comforted, consoled, and assisted her, I had the first taste of my life purpose: to empower empowerers across the world.

I graduated from Amherst College and moved to New York City. I combined my career as a child actor with my interest in indigenous healing methods and began working as a documentary film producer. I made films in Africa, Europe, and Asia while working at the United Nations. I made films that won the Best Narrative Feature at the Los Angeles Film Festival and received Emmy nominations.

But while I was living in the city, hustling between films, exercising at night after work, I was also living with African parasites and was soon diagnosed with Lymes disease among a variety of other maladies.

In search of a better lifestyle, I transitioned from the New York documentary scene into the Los Angeles commercial world and formed a partnership with director Daniel Mercadante. We created the company “The Mercadantes” and traveled the world making commercials for companies including Apple, Facebook, Chevrolet, Volkswagen, and AT&T.

Together we won numerous Clio awards, Cannes Gold Lions, and a nomination for Best Commercial Directors by the Directors Guild of America. Our films have been featured at the annual TED Talk Conferences and played on Oprah’s OWN network.