Author Topic: General Questions  (Read 17142 times)

Offline Nancy_Rehm

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
General Questions
« on: March 31, 2006, 12:34:21 pm »
Dear NAFPS members,

I am studying with Scarlet Kinney at The Standing Bear Center, which has been the subject of one of your threads, and I have been following that exchange on your website. I was interested in writing a response, but I discovered that I couldn’t because I lacked information. As a white person of European ethnic background, it honestly never occurred to me that Native Americans would object to white people attempting to learn Native American spiritual practices. I would therefore like to pose a few questions. If you would be kind enough to respond, I would be very grateful.
First, why is it considered wrong for Native Americans to teach white people, and for those white people to then teach other white people? I’m not sure that I understand this. From my perspective, if it has to do with the desire to increase respect for traditions, it would make sense to extend knowledge of the traditions to a broader group.
Second, what is the objection to charging for such teaching? Is there some specific reason why this is unacceptable to Native Americans? Does the objection extend to bartering arrangements as well?
Third, why is the term ‘shaman’ offensive? I understood it to be a Siberian term that has been applied to a general set of spiritual and healing practices found in various forms all over the world, and given the universality of those practices, is there a better term?
And finally, why is it upsetting when predominantly white people claim to have Native American ancestors? Why would making such a claim be considered an indicator of racism?