Author Topic: Just trying to clear things up!  (Read 4765 times)

Offline Durare

Just trying to clear things up!
« on: August 16, 2010, 11:25:46 pm »
Hi all,

I know I'm new to all this.  It is appaling that people out there would misrepresent themselves in order to profit on other people's needs and dreams. And not olny misrepresent themselves but Natives as well.

What I don't understand is why are they (the frauds) not formally discredited by tribal council, especially those tribes who the fraud is claiming to be part of? I found this website on a whim, and very lucky that I did, but it seems to be quite an extensive problem, enough to be tackled head on. I'm not saying that this website isn't doing its job, and I'm so thankful that its here!

I would like everyone to know that I'm sincere in my question and hopefully I haven't stuck my foot in where it doesn't belong.

It just seems that a lot of people don't know about this issue and that it should be brought out into the light. (Hence this website  ;D)

Sincerely,

Durare

Offline CuAnnan

• Sagart na Gael
Re: Just trying to clear things up!
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 11:28:59 pm »
From my experience, Durare, the people who are passing themselves off as cultures they don't belong to don't care whether or not the people from those cultures condemn their actions. Their sense of entitlement is so (are we allowed swear here) ingrained that, from their (wrong) perspective nobody can tell them "no".
I keep learning on this forum.
This is good.

Offline Durare

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2010, 11:48:33 pm »
As I do further research...I'm starting to see how big this is.  Its quite sad...but to make some good come of it please know that I will certainly tell everyone I know about this problem.

Offline LittleOldMan

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2010, 09:29:52 am »
Durare/Cuannan