Author Topic: Hello folks:)  (Read 5941 times)

Offline Staara77

Hello folks:)
« on: May 25, 2011, 12:42:29 pm »
Hello folks :)

I've been coming to this forum for a few months and every time I have come it has always been an eye-opener and a fascinating read.
I am glad that I have finally found somewhere, where I can talk to folks about the numerous charlatans out there, and who will finally understand where I am coming from.

I am from London originally and have now moved to Brighton-where there is a 'spiritual' scene going on and as you know, plenty of charlatans and fake Shamans.
I am of South-Asian origin and so I have come across various people, who claim to love going to India to find themselves, or going to some Ashram, or claim to belong to a certain Buddhist group.
I just find it interesting how they never have seemed to have learned much from Buddhism or Hinduism, as they think that they have.

I write comedy-it's largely satirical and for a couple of months my comedy has targeted to New Age charlatans and of course those shamans that claim to be able to make you a fully qualified, 100% Uber-Advanced Shaman in a course of 2.6 months etc ;)
I take an advertisement and like to play around with.
Hell I even created a false poster of some new age event mocking the kinds of words and promises that are made.

I will admit I did fall victim to the new age scene but have always had my reservations of those that want to charge for their new age services-something like £120 for a weekend of events, that anybody can really run-providing they use the right buzz words, and knock up some 'finding your true-inner-heart-soul-animal spirit guide' meditation.

I have tried to bring this up amongst some spiritually inclined groups-and funny how often I am ignored.