General > Frauds

Scarlet Kinney's Allegedly Native Teacher

(1/6) > >>

educatedindian:
She's written to me as well as several others. I'm hoping we can pin down who this alleged female "Mohawk shaman" is who mixed together Mayan and even "Mongolian" beliefs.

"The alleged "Mohawk elder" who trained me was not an "elder" as she was not old enough to have been given that title....
I may indeed have been victimized, and/or taken in by a fraud myself, but that's neither my perception of my relationship with my teacher nor my perspective on such things. The woman I studied with had problems, yes, and her underlying hatred of white people became an issue for us that led to a parting of our ways. But I loved her and respected her, and still do, in part because I have some empathy for what she has endured as a mixed blood. She knew what was happening to me, and guided me safely through it. I was happy to pay her for her help, just as I would have paid a therapist or doctor, etc., had they been able to help me. I regret nothing about my relationship with her, and nor do I harbor any ill will towards her for the aftermath of our parting. Furthermore, whatever our differences may have been, I would defend her were she to be subjected to an attack such as the one I have been subjected to on your site. She is a human being, as we all are, and one who carries the wounds of her heritage in her own heart. When such wounds become hurtful behaviors or words directed at others, how can I then judge her and make her wrong, knowing what she herself has suffered, and knowing that she is trying to heal her own wounding by working within the white culture?