Author Topic: Myself & my thoughts  (Read 2852 times)

Offline spinach

Myself & my thoughts
« on: October 23, 2009, 04:58:30 pm »
My background is mostly European, but I have a few native ancestors from the Southeast (definitely some Cherokee and maybe some Muskogean, but not really sure, pretty far removed in time and culture). I have been interested in religion since I can remember, though at first from a skeptical position, now from a more open perspective.

I have recently come to understand that the phenomenon we call “civilization” has either caused or exacerbated the vast majority of problems that people recognize. Many indigenous peoples from around the world are part of the anti-civilization movement, and I have come to realize the importance of their cultural memory beyond the colonial mindset of the anthropologist. Indigenous peoples have been the primary resistors to civilization, but I am heartened that more and more people that once identified with civilization are realizing it's true nature. I feel that the alliance between those that preserve the traditions of authentic human societies and those whose ancestors have been trapped in the machine for generations is imperative to free the Earth and all beings upon it from civilization's death-grip.