Author Topic: philologist  (Read 3500 times)

Offline philologist

philologist
« on: February 01, 2009, 03:54:31 am »
Hi all,

First off, my thanks to the moderators and all the dedicated members of this forum who put in their time, research and effort to make NAFPS a valuable resource for people who care about learning the difference between time-honored religious practices and frauds who are just out to make a buck. Your work is tremendously laudable and I'm very glad that you do what you do.

I'm a plain-vanilla white Texas girl, with Welsh, Scottish, Irish and Danish ancestry, but more than anything I identify as Texan. :) These days I work in computer science, mostly doing academic computer security research, but I have a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in linguistics, which is where my username comes from. I'm no longer as actively involved in linguistics as I used to be, but I'm still very interested in languages which don't get a lot of attention in academic circles. During grad school I did some work with Rukai, an indigenous language of Taiwan (part of the Austronesian language family). I also spent two weeks up in Resolute Bay, Nunavut about ten years ago, and have wanted to learn more about Inuktitut ever since. (I believe the dialect that I listened to was Qikiqtaaluk uannangani, but I'm not 100% positive.) If anyone has any pointers to good learning materials, I'd be very grateful!