Author Topic: Greetings and Salutations!  (Read 6818 times)

Offline Jaibyrd

• The Weirdo Zone
Greetings and Salutations!
« on: February 10, 2010, 03:40:11 pm »
First of all, I want to say a big Thank You for this wonderful site and all the thought-provoking information!

A bit about me, I go by the name Jai'byrd online, you can call me Jai for short. I'm a high school science teacher at an alternative school in North Carolina and before that I was a zookeeper. I do martial arts (Okinawan Shorin-Ryu Shorinkan Karate), enjoy reading, drawing, making jewelry and building websites. I'm really into Ancient Egypt and Sci-Fi (fiction, not the Pyramids were built by aliens nonsense). From what I've learned from reading around on this site, I'm a PODAI, as my Grandmother who is majorly into genealogy (she even found my Grandfather's - her husband - family as he was adopted) found the following:

Capt. Lucas Schermerhorn (your 7th gr. grdfa. of RW), (Grandma Bea's side), married Wyntje Fitzgerald.  Wyntje's father, John Fitzgerald's mother was a full blooded Mahican (Mohican), of the Algonquian stock.  They were the Hudson River (NY State) Indians who befriended old Henry (Hudson) when he wandered up the Hudson River.  The Mohawks of Iroquoian stock nearly wiped them out with a lot of other tribes way back.  Between this and fighting for us over the years, there are few left and they live over in Stockbridge, MA.  I gave your Mom a book on them.  

Also on Grandma Bea's side (the Quay's) there is supposed to be another connection but I have never been able to really track them, Canadian border area.  

Also in the Quay's early line was Schenectady's famous "Ostock" line.  Mohawk.  Not our direct line though.  Nonetheless, one of "us."