Author Topic: New post from a new guy: Preston from California  (Read 4363 times)

Offline Preston

New post from a new guy: Preston from California
« on: September 29, 2008, 08:33:55 pm »
Hello, NAFPS folks:

I'm Preston, I've been lurking here for about a month after getting the link from a friend, a feminist blogger who is very concerned with issues of cultural appropriation.  She was right, great work is being done here.  I hope you continue in the face of the attacks you receive.  This is a good place.

You won't hear much from me, but I didn't want to just lurk around, so I thought I would register and introduce myself.  Mostly I want to come here and learn, if that's OK with the mods and everyone. 

My interest in being here is twofold: first, I am a non-Indian and want to learn about the issues that are being discussed here.  Second, I am studying to be a clergyman in my own tradition (Roman Catholic Christianity) and I see so many dangers and pitfalls for myself and my friends in your depictions of the frauds you expose on this site. 

I guess what I'm really saying is, I would never want to be an "exhibit" in a website like this one! 

But I also know, as I progress on this long path of study in my own faith tradition, that the dangers that face me come from my own weaknesses inside--for example, the desire of a man in his 50's to be an authority figure; the conviction that I must be right if I feel "really, really strongly" about something. 

Maybe the out-and-out crooks that you expose are just that, cynical con-men and women and just plain old nasty crooks.  But I also think some people that I've seen discussed here are deluded or insane, or maybe just people that started out, like me, with good intentions and then became deluded or insane.   

Either way, I have gotten a lot of food for thought from considering the implications, as I follow the discernment path that I'm on.

So that's who I am and how I got here.  Blessings and good wishes to all,