Author Topic: Greetings from Tucson!  (Read 9154 times)

Offline SouthwestSkeptic

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Greetings from Tucson!
« on: February 05, 2006, 11:21:03 pm »
Greetings from Tucson, Arizona the capital of WEIRD!

My name is Rose Garcia and I’m studying at the University of Arizona.

I haven’t picked a major yet, I’m just trying to survive the required courses.

My Dad was Mexican and my mom was Tohono O’odham and Yaqui but I wasn’t really raised to be very religious or culturally identified.  I attend a few Pow Wows or festivals a year but I think of myself as more skeptical than mystical.  I’ve never been one for the woo woo stuff even though everyone who looks at me assumes I have genetically inherited some ancient wisdom I just can’t wait to share with them. (Aye!)

The Nation of Aztlan people around here really freak me out. Most Mexican people that I know who are trying to find an alternative spirituality end up settling for whatever New Age crap that someone is willing to sell them.  It’s pretty sad. A lot of the progressive people in Tucson are really into the New Age so it’s not always comfortable being ndn here.

I’m really looking forward to meeting some skeptical ndns.  

Also, I’m really interested in how you go about determining that someone is a fraud.  Is there an ndn better business bureau or something?

send me an e-mail if you think I'm interesting
southwestskeptic@yahoo.com

Rose Garcia
Tucson, AZ

I'm not a bird, I'm not a plane, I'm super NDN skeptic -
Debunking non-NDN bunk, one nut at a time!

Offline Barnaby_McEwan

Re: Greetings from Tucson!
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2006, 06:57:04 pm »