Author Topic: hello from Jeanie  (Read 20167 times)

Offline jeaniesgenealogy

hello from Jeanie
« on: October 16, 2015, 09:54:36 pm »
Hello, my name is Jeanie. I am an amateur genealogist and genealogy blogger. My ancestry is British/Irish and to the best of my knowledge I do not have a drop of Native American blood. The most popular post on my blog concerns the "myth" of Princess Nicketti/Jane Eagle Plume supposed daughter of Opechangough of the Powhatans of Virginia. My knowledge of Indian genealogy is practically nonexistent, but I do understand the genealogical research process and what constitutes proof.  It is my hope that the members of this forum can help me with answers to people who "yell" at me and tell me that not only are they related to Nicketti but can trace their ancestors to "Chief Turkey Trot" born in 1432.  I am aware of the Don Greene Shawnee Heritage Books, which are the source of most of the family tree information that comes my way.
Thank you for reading my post and hopefully you can help me stamp out some of the bogus Native American Genealogy lines.

Offline jeaniesgenealogy

Re: hello from Jeanie
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2015, 01:08:50 pm »
This was just posted to my blog:

I had the Appalachian Shawnee tribe (all be it not a Federally recognized tribe) verify my lineage. My line is as follows: HOKOLESQUA OPECHAN "STREAM " CORNSTALK (1628 - 1696)
BIG TURKEY HOP CORNSTALK (1660 - 1694)
son of HOKOLESQUA OPECHAN "STREAM " CORNSTALK
APRIL "TIKAMI" HOP (1682 - 1744)
daughter of BIG TURKEY HOP CORNSTALK
MARY LEWIS (1718 - 1744)
daughter of APRIL "TIKAMI" HOP
JOHN JOSEPH VANN (1735 - 1815)

I would like to be able to respond to these types of comments with a helpful answer. I don't want to be rude to them, but I would like to respond with a correct answer. I think she is talking about the Appalachian Shawnee Tribe.

Offline WINative

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2015, 03:39:50 pm »
Hi Jeanie,

First of all there is No Appalachian Shawnee Tribe.