Author Topic: Trying to live outside ...  (Read 4336 times)

Offline Coastrangechild

Trying to live outside ...
« on: November 16, 2013, 12:02:20 am »
My aunt did a huge amount of genealogical research over the last few years and I am new to find some of my ancestors are Native American … but this feels so strange and removed for me to be honest. I ended up here googeling “Plastic Shamans.” And found this site … cool site BTW. I am very interested in spiritual identity and how it relates to cultural identity. I know these things are interconnected but their own at the same time. In an effort to sort out myself I feel compelled to share.
The tribe my family has some relation to is the Patawomeck. I also have many ancestors from Lapland, Spain, and Scotland. Each with its own tradition.
At the same time I was raised in the mountains on the west coast. I grew up w/out indoor running water and electricity near the Canadian border – so nature was close always. My school was small and about half of the students were tribal members. In fact I was lucky enough to attend one of Sherman Alexie’s early readings in Colville – I think maybe 20 people were there.

In college I met and fell in love with a tribal member. He went on to work for his tribe’s cultural resource department and as a result we were involved in many activities such as: language revitalization, Canoe family, building a long house, weaving classes etc.