Author Topic: Hi from Australia  (Read 8524 times)

Offline Dreamfish

Hi from Australia
« on: January 14, 2009, 11:22:19 am »
Hello, thanks for allowing me to join the forum. I am an Australian-born descendant of Polynesian tribes from my mother's people, and Northern Irish on my father's side of the tracks. I am a film maker/visual artist and writer. I am trying to understand why the collective, white, western identity has lost it's own thread of truth, lost it's sense of relationship with the earth, and why so many are in a frenzy to adopt/steal the identities, cultures and customs of native peoples. I recognise that in part, there is tremendous sense of shame for what has gone before, and so many people are driven to make reconciliation that we are drawn to the Dreaming festivals, to the cultural celebrations, fascinated by the customs of our Indigenous peoples, we are all hungry for hope, for honest connection, for something real to touch us. White western society has cast out it's own elders, severed the links back to it's traditional roots. Mostly we just need to be shown the simplest ways back, to make amends to the planet and all the people.

I too am profoundly disheartened by the greed that infuses the actions and motivations of so many, I want to use my energies to help the empty white mind find it's way back to a state of reverence for nature and all beings. Unless that can happen we are doomed.

Enough ranting, I extend my friendship and heartfelt desire to see integrity reign supreme.

cheers and g'day!

« Last Edit: February 01, 2009, 12:15:06 am by Dreamfish »

Offline Moma_porcupine

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: Hi from Australia
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2009, 02:22:28 pm »
Hi Dreamfish / Teone Welcome !

I like the sound of what you are trying to do !

One of the things I notice is that people of the dominent culture seem to have an unconscious underlying world veiw and belief system which everything gets trimmed down to fit within.