Author Topic: Let me introduce myself  (Read 6984 times)

White Woman

Let me introduce myself
« on: June 15, 2008, 05:58:52 am »
My great grandmother was full blooded Native American.  She lived on the Merrimac River in S. Berwick, Maine along with other Bennetts and Nasons. I cannot be sure of the tribe just yet, due to record loss, but I am on a continuing quest for my heritage. You may laugh, but I have always related to the Native American in my blood more than my European blood. I have great reverance for Mother Earth and all Life forms.

I am an Artist. Every mark I make is deeply connected to my Soul and Mother Nature. I speak through my art. Actually, I tell stories through my art. In 2001, I presented a 4-part story, Rite of Passage. Someday soon, it will be out there for all to see. Looking Back, Buffalo Calf Woman, Shaman's Death and Field of Plenty shed light on the controversial issues of exploitation. I hope you will view my story, coming soon. This work is not for sale, as it is educational.

Offline educatedindian

• Administrator
Re: Let me introduce myself
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2008, 01:18:41 pm »
From what I could find, the Pennacook mostly lived in that area. That makes it a bit strange you have so much emotion tied up in Lakota sacred rites like we saw in that other thread.

Obviously we don't know you very well, at least not yet. But it's often common for people with ancestry from lesser known (to white America) tribes to latch onto the best known tribes like the Lakota as kind of a stand in for all Native people.

Again, I only know what I've seen so far, so my first thoughts might be completely off. But if what I say has any truth for you, hopefully you will give it some thought. There's a thread on links and advice for PODIAs (People of Distant Indian Ancestry) under Non Frauds you might be interested in.