Author Topic: Introduction from Olderthandirt  (Read 11424 times)

Offline Olderthandirt

Introduction from Olderthandirt
« on: November 29, 2006, 01:49:17 am »
Hello,

I am 61 and from the Auburn, WA, area.  My beloved husband, Michael, of 36 yrs crossed over recently.  Michael was Siksika (His Grandmother was from Lethbridge, Alberta) and German. 

My father went to his grave thinking he was Cherokee/Irish, however, 7 years ago, I found some family records and his mother was simply listed as "Indian."  Sadly, I haven't a clue.

There are no living family members from Michael's family nor mine and we had no children.

I use Olderthandirt as a nic because in the last year of Michael's fight to survive stomach cancer, we used to tease each other about getting old.  I'd say I am older than dirt and he would laughingly reply, "Hah!  I invented dirt!!"

I am a retired horse trainer, and am currently healing from a severe, near fatal beating that occured when I got home from a powwow & discovered someone in my garage.  But, I'm a tough old bird and will definitely make it through these challenges.

Karen

~T Blue~

"Why, oh WHY didn't life's major problems happen when I was 18 and knew it all?"

Offline debbieredbear

• Global Moderator
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: Introduction from Olderthandirt
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2006, 02:35:02 am »
Hi Karen,

I live in Kitsap County, not so far from you. How do you like our lovely weather??

Offline Olderthandirt

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2006, 11:07:51 pm »
Hi Debbie,

Right at the moment, my reply would be........BRRRRRRRRR!!  It is only 11 degrees and it is starting to snow again.  Temp is suppose to get down in the minus range.

Hey!  I know quite a few folks in the Silverdale, Poulsbo, Kingston areas.

Given our latest radical weather extremes I hope you don't freeze, blow away or float away.

Karen
~T Blue~

"Why, oh WHY didn't life's major problems happen when I was 18 and knew it all?"

Offline debbieredbear