Author Topic: "Solas Sa Dorchadas," Shamanism-NI, shameon in Northern Ireland  (Read 16942 times)

Solas Sa Dorchadas

A little about me

I am Irish born and raised and currently living on the island of Ireland, my parents, grandparents and ancestors are Celtic through and through both Irish and Scottish. I live in the North of Ireland and I have lived through what we call here the "troubles" the shooting and killings in the name of religion and politics.  I am the proud father of 4 grown children and been married for nearly 30 years years to a wonderful lady. And lastly I am a therapist/counselor and a college lecturer for nearly 20 years. It was a good and rewarding career, that I had to leave as my wee wife is now ill and confined to bed and has been these last 8 years.

All my life I have have felt the keen loss of my culture, its wisdom and practices at the hand of christianity of one brand or another, and witnessed tribalism of the worst kind in Ireland, divided along the lines of religion and politics. I was for a time heavily involved christian ministry, but as I studied the bible, in Greek and Hebrew and in it's  cultural and historical context, I left that faith and spirituality (won't bore you with the reasons, your probably more than familiar with them  :) ) because of  what I discovered there.

I am now exploring the faith and spirituality of "my" ancestors of my country and continent, which is difficult to do, as 2000 years of christianity does not leave much in it's path. But I and many others are doing the best we can, placing what we can together and finding what fits and what was meant.

I look to the commonality of "Native Wisdom" of those peoples across entire globe who have managed to protect what my ancestors could not, to give me some sort of guide. Because even though there are huge differences, there are some common grounds. Thankfully truth is outside all patterns, opinions and dogma and geography.