Author Topic: How Many Kinds of Wrong is This? (One of Villoldo's)  (Read 4348 times)

Laurel

How Many Kinds of Wrong is This? (One of Villoldo's)
« on: February 18, 2008, 03:10:05 pm »
Sorry I didn't post this in time for anyone in or near Chapel Hill to attend/protest:

http://www.newsobserver.com/105/story/945805.html

Ex-FBI agent Victoria Johnson found being a working mother stressful.  She started out with acupuncture, but doesn't like needles, so she read Villoldo's book, went to his school, became a "shaman" and now teaches others this Four Winds stuff and does medicine wheel readings.  I guess it beats working for a living...?

I'd also love to know who this Michael Winkelman is:

But that doesn't mean modern-day shamanism is a sham. Altered states of consciousness that accompany shamanic rites can produce feelings of profound relaxation, Winkelman said. Rituals allow people to bond with one another so that the body releases opioids or the "feel good chemicals" that stimulate the immune system.
"These ritual altered states of consciousness enhance communication between the lower brain system and the frontal brain and give us access to information not accessible to consciousness," Winkelman said.

Because religion is all about relaxing and feeling good. Sheeeeit.

Offline debbieredbear

• Global Moderator
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: How Many Kinds of Wrong is This? (One of Villoldo's)
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 05:23:55 pm »
Because religion is all about relaxing and feeling good. Sheeeeit.

I am finding that many of the followers of these people want an "easier softer way" so to speak. In fact, one of the local frauds uses those words to tell his kind of shamanism. In addition he touts that his brand of shamanism doesn't require time or sacrifice. So I had to laugh when  I heard some of his ex-followers are now saying he isn't spiritual! Do you THINK??? LOL!