Author Topic: Lakota Leathers  (Read 35798 times)

Offline clearwater

Lakota Leathers
« on: January 07, 2010, 01:29:30 pm »
I am a newbie and had signed up here with the intent of only posting to one thread. However, I am a musician and came across Lakota Leathers, which is based in Sevierville, TN and started by non-Indians. Their relationship to the Pine Ridge Lakotas is described here:

http://lakotaleathers.com/About_Us.html

This company makes musical instrument straps. Their straps seem nice, but the company has not responded to any of my emails. Before I buy one of these straps, is this for real? Are there Lakotas here at this site who can validate that these straps are actually made by Lakotas on the Pine Ridge reservation? If so, I'll buy one. If not, who are these guys?

As part of their desire to assist the Lakota people, in addition to employing them making straps, they accept donations directly and then pass 100% of the donations to the Lakotas. From their website:

While Lakota Leathers is NOT a charity, we do all we can to help the Lakota people. The reason we are not a charity is because we want as little government involvement in this endeavor as possible. We want the Lakota to be in business for themselves and not be constantly receiving charity, but actually earning a living. I have been contacted many times by many different people, however, asking how they can help, and who they can donate to. While we are not a 501c3 tax deductable organization, we are in constant contact with the Lakota and we can ALWAYS put 100% of any amount you'd like to donate to good use. We assure you that any amount you donate will go directly to a family in need and no 'middle man' of any sort will be involved. In the past we have helped families devistated by house fires, the extreme cold weather, and black mold. Your donations are appreciated. Thank you for caring, Kenny

The company has existed 2 years and they claim to have done great things: