Author Topic: How & Why Nuagers Target Hopi  (Read 12851 times)

Offline educatedindian

• Administrator
How & Why Nuagers Target Hopi
« on: March 06, 2005, 11:31:13 pm »
misternick03" <m9522301@qub.ac.uk>
Date: Wed, 11 Jun 2003 19:56:16 -0000
Subject: [nafps_again] Blue Stars, Green Men, and B.S.

Crikey, I think I might have unwillingly openend a can of worms here, with the old Hopi prophecies.

Bear with me and I'll try and sort this out as far as I am able.
First rule of Hopi: If you find 2 Hopis agreeing with each other for more than 15 minutes - one of them is lying.
Second rule of Hopi: If you're not Hopi you don't understand Hopi!
I'm not Hopi. (best make that very clear from the outset!!) I do not speak for any Hopis either, I am studying the people that come to Hopi - i.e. generally New Agers, art collectors, and 'cultural'
tourists, and researching the globalisation of so-called Hopi beliefs in a New Age context.

The Hopi play a large role in New Age cultures, for a variety of reasons, this ranges from the age old notion of romanticising the 'primitive' to a belief that the Hopi hold the answers to the world's very obvious problems.
The main problems that are associated with the Hopi role within the New Age, is that a small number of Hopi individuals actually endorsed
some of the messages that were coming out. However, these messages were generally picked up on by non-Hopis, such as Little Sun, Katherine Cheshire, Thomas Tarbett, etc. and re-interpreted in a non-Hopi context.(a guy called John Kimmey will even 'channel' messages from the Katsinam, for a fee)
The reasons for Hopi involvement with these people range from misguided trust, to a political opposition to the Hopi Tribal Council. The Council is not a perfect political organisation, and has been responsible for many mistakes in the past - most notably the issues revolving around the mining of Black Mesa, and the pumping of water from the n-aquifer (see info from Black Mesa Trust for further